Site Search

Darling Range Goes Back To Back

Wednesday, August 26, 2015 - 3:33 PM by Daniel CURTIS

The 2015 Schoolboys RediMed Cup competition has recently concluded with Darling Range Sports College winning their second consecutive Cable Division title over a gallant CBC Fremantle.

Darling Range burst out of the blocks early slamming on five quick goals in the first 15 minutes of the game. CBC fought hard to stem the flow, though by half time Darling Range had opened up a match winning lead.

After the break, CBC was able to match Darling Range in general play but couldn’t put that good work on the scoreboard. Darling Range eventually broke away with some outstanding team football to eventually run out comfortable winners.

John Levin (Darling Range) and Sam Timewell (CBC Fremantle) were presented with the special Schoolboys RediMed Cup match footballs in recognition of being their school’s best players in the Grand Final. The Rhys Kampen Memorial Medal was awarded to Jayden Johnson from Darling Range for his outstanding contributions throughout the competition.

Swans District Development Officer, Daniel Curtis spoke of the outstanding professionalism shown by the AFL program, " It's a credit to the professional environment that Clay McLernon, James Embley and Shaun Clifford have developed over a number of years which has now resulted in the success of competitions such as these".

AFL Legend and WA Hall of Fame Member Barry Cable was on hand to present the Schoolboys RediMed Cup and medallions to the players, coaches and umpires.

WAFC Schools Competitions Manager Clayton Anderson said one of the major directions of the WA Football Commission and School Sport WA when the competition was established was to ensure Australian Rules Football was offered in all Secondary Schools.

“Over the years football has provided the vehicle where values like loyalty, teamwork, respect, leadership, mateship, endeavour and integrity are taught. Both teams demonstrated these qualities in a highly skilled display and true sportsman’s like manner,” he said.

“The West Australian Football Commission is extremely proud to have new program partner ‘RediMed’ on board for 2015 and for the next two years. We thank RediMed for their support as our major program partner and look forward to their continued support in 2016 and 2017.

“Congratulations must also be extended to all schools involved in this year’s program we look forward to having them participate next year.”

Cable Division Grand Final:

Darling Range SC          10.1          14.4          (88)

CBC Fremantle                0.0              0.1           (1)

Best: Darling Range SC – John Levin, Jayden Johnson, James Dereyne

CBC Fremantle – Sam Timewell, Brodee Knight, Jordan Biondillo