Site Search

Hollywood Comes to Swans

Wednesday, October 7, 2015 - 12:04 PM

The Swans Gala Night was held on the 17th of September at Oakover Grounds in Middle Swan. The night had an Oscars Hollywood theme to it with the red carpet being rolled out for guests from junior clubs, school ambassadors, SDFDC members and central conference staff. The night started out on the lawn with some live music from the band The Silent Deeds before everyone went inside and took to their club tables to hear from our host Clint Wheeldon. The nigh included a welcome from SDFDC Chair Ian Westmore, a district overview from Community Development Manager Isaac Stewart as well as a number of awards and a fun raffle and silent auction. The night was a great success and was the perfect opportunity for volunteers in our district to be recognised. Listed below are all the award winners.

• Swans District AFL School Ambassador of the Year- Joe Kendall (Helena College)
• One Life Auskick Coach of the Year- Shannon Shaw (Forrestfield JFC)
• One Life Junior Coach of the Year- Ian Brown (Caversham JFC)
• One Life Youth Coach of the Year- Dave Matheson (Hills Rangers JFC)
• SD Junior Football Umpires Association Outstanding Achievement Award- Adam Grixti
• Auskick Burley Sekem Champion Club- Kalamunda JFC
• Junior Burley Sekem Champion Club- Darlington JFC
• Youth Burley Sekem Champion Club- High Wycombe JFC
• Progress Developments District Achievement Award- Leah Stupar (Hills Rangers JFC)
• Swans District Sunday Times Volunteer of the Year Finalist- Murray Sullivan (Mundaring JFC)
• Swans District Sunday Times Volunteer of the Year Finalist Winner- Linda King (Aveley JFC)